V2-10 appearing to drift off G-code Path, and then correcting

Hello Penta Forum,

I am writing here today because I have encountered a problem with my V2-10 appearing to drift off of the g-code path which has been given to it. This results in cuts increasing in stepover as the machine cuts, as well as small notches being left in our part when the machine “corrects”.

When looking at the mirror in the kinetic control simulator, I would watch as the tool center would drift off of the g-code path, while occasionally correcting itself and returning the center of the bit to the g-code path.

I was using G54 offsets which were all set to 0. The tool length offset was -78.27mm.

The program was made in Mastercam using an opti-rough tool path which was then converted to 5 axis using the convert to 5 axis operation.

A photo of our piece of stock is attached where the “correction notches” circled in red are shown:

I would have included the G-code in this post however since I am new to the forum, I am unable to attach files to this post. I would’ve also included a photo of the G-code in the Penta Machine Co simulator, however I am a new user and can only attach one photo.

Thanks for reading through this post and let me know what you think.

Hi @cbosenberg, I’ve made you a basic user so you should now be able to post your G code and any other images you think would be helpful.

Hello John,

Thank you!

Here’s a photo of the toolpath in the Simulator:
toolpath

and here is the G code (fair warning, it is a larger file):
Nozzle-Top5Axis-V2.txt (10.8 MB)

Thanks @cbosenberg! The tool path lines are fairly close together compared to your tool diameter. Are you certain the simulator is showing the tool drift? Generally, when a program seems to drift over the course of a program, its due to excessive feed rates and the stepper motors are skipping steps. This wouldn’t present itself in the simulator, though, because the control isn’t aware that steps are being skipped.